

## ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

DATE: Monday 13<sup>th</sup> May 2024

TIME: 7.00pm

LOCATION: Drawing Room, Bedale Hall

PRESENT: Councillors Amanda Coates (Chair for AM24.01); John Howe

(Chair thereafter); Mike Barningham, Dawn Culver, John Howe,

**David Ingram, Christine Mollard, and John Noone** 

STAFF: Nick Reed (Clerk, minutes), Christine Brown (Asst Clerk)

IN ATTENDANCE: Three members of the public (MoP)

AM24.01	Election of a Chair of the Council		
	The Council <b>ELECTED</b> Cllr John Howe as Mayor, and Chair of the Town Council, and		
	he duly signed the Acceptance of Office and took the Chair.		
AM24.02	Election of a Vice-Chair of the Council		
	The Council <b>ELECTED</b> Cllr Christine Mollard as Deputy Mayor, and Vice-Chair of the Town Council, and she duly signed the Acceptance of Office.		
AM24.03	Apologies		
	Apologies were received and accepted from Cllrs Andrew Hallett, Pam Macklewain-Hallett, and Emma Wells		
AM24.04	Council documents		
24.041	Standing orders: It was RESOLVED that these be re-approved and re-adopted.		
24.042	Financial regulations: It was RESOLVED that these be re-approved and re-adopted.		
24.043	<b>Asset register:</b> It was <b>RESOLVED</b> that the updated register be approved and adopted.		
24.044	<b>Equality and Diversity Policy:</b> The Council noted that the current policy related only		
	to employment and should be broader to reflect the public sector equality duties,		
	and therefore <b>RESOLVED</b> that a more appropriate policy be developed for		
	consideration at an ordinary meeting early in this business year.		
	Action: Clerk to circulate draft policy		
24.045	<b>Code of Conduct:</b> It was <b>RESOLVED</b> that this be re-approved and re-adopted.		
24.046	<b>Model Publication Scheme:</b> It was <b>RESOLVED</b> that this be re-approved and readopted		
24.047	Risk Management Policy: It was RESOLVED that this be re-approved and re-adopted		
24.048	Fire Risk Assessment It was RESOLVED that this be re-approved and re-adopted		
24.049	Safeguarding Policy: It was RESOLVED that this be re-approved and re-adopted		
AM24.05	Audit matters for the year ended 31st March 2023		
24.051	Approval of Annual Governance Statement. This was read out and the Council		
	<b>RESOLVED</b> to approve the statement as submitted on the Annual Return.		

24.052	<b>Approval of annual receipts and payments accounts</b> . These were considered and the Council <b>RESOLVED</b> to approve them.	
24.053	Approval of the Statement of Accounts of the Annual Return. This was considered	
	and the Council <b>RESOLVED</b> to approve the Statement of Accounts.	
AM.24.06	Town Council Committees	
24.061	Staffing Committee	
	The Council <b>RESOLVED</b> to appoint Cllrs Howe (Chair), Coates, Ingram, Macklewain-	
	Hallettand Mollard to this sub-committee.	
AM24.07	Town Council working groups.	
	The Council <b>RESOLVED</b> to appoint members to its internal working groups as	
	follows:	
24.071	Community Bonfire: Cllrs Culver and Ingram	
24.072	Christmas Lights: Cllrs Howe and Mollard	
24.073	Play Area Development: Cllrs Barningham, Coates and Mollard	
24.074	Car Boot Sales: Cllrs Ingram, Macklewain-Hallett and Noone	
24.075	Emergency Planning: Cllrs Barningham, Coates, Howe and Noone	
24.076	Twinning: Cllrs Coates, Howe and Mollard	
24.077	Litterbusters: Cllrs Culver, Howe and Ingram	
AM24.08	Representatives to external bodies	
	The Council <b>RESOLVED</b> to appoint members to represent the council on external	
	bodies, and report back to council as necessary, as follows:	
24.081	<b>Bedale, Aiskew, Leeming Bar and Burrill Joint Burial Authority</b> : Cllrs Hallett, Ingram and Mollard	
24.082	Board of the Rector's Four-and-Twenty Charity: Cllrs Barningham, Coates, and	
24.002	Mollard	
24.083	Yorkshire Local Councils Association: Cllrs Howe and Mollard	
24.084	Hambleton DC Bedale and Villages Community Forum: Cllr Coates	
24.085	Bedale Hall Charitable Incorporated Organisation: Cllrs Howe and Ingram	
24.086	Bedale Tourist Information Centre: Cllr Howe	
24.087	North Yorkshire Council Safer Hambleton Anti-Social Behaviour Working Group:	
	Cllr Coates	

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm.

SIGNED:	(Chair)

DATE: